CALL FOR PAPERS

Sigcomm 2005 - Workshop on

Delay Tolerant Networking and Related Networks (WDTN-05) (to be held with SIGCOMM 2005: Aug 20-26, 2005, Philidelphia, PA, USA)

Goals

Today, the most successful network architecture is that of the Internet. It has scaled well beyond the original plan of its designers, and the Internet Protocol has been carried on a great number of underlying protocols, including itself. However, the Internet's protocol architecture suffers some problems when implemented on classes of networks for which it was not originally designed. For example, when disconnection and reconnection is common, or link performance is highly variable or extreme, one or more of the traditional Internet protocols do not work well. In this workshop, we wish to explore physical networks that operate significantly differently from wired, connected networks and the protocol architectures and algorithms used to deal with such situations. Techniques for making applications tolerant to disruptions and/or high delays are also requested. More specifically, we solicit papers in the following areas:

- (a) Physical characteristics of performance-challenged neworks
- (b) Networking systems operating over unusual/challenged networks
- (c) Protocol design and evaluation of operations over challenged networks
- (d) Robust network application design and implementation techniques

Submissions ranging from presentations of specific systems or network system performance to more general, philosophical position papers as to what to do about them are welcome. Papers that bring out interesting and novel ideas at an early stage in their development are favored over highly polished, journal-style results. Selected papers will be forward-looking, with impact and implications for ongoing or future research.

Paper Format and Submission Instructions

Submitted papers must be no more than 8 pages long, with no characters in smaller than 10 point fonts. Submit papers via the WDTN-05 submission site: http://blizzard.cs.uwaterloo.ca/DTNCRP

Papers will be reviewed single blind.

Program Committee

Jon Crowcroft Cambridge Univ. **Kevin Fall** Intel (organizer) Eric Brewer UC Berkeley Ellen Zegura Georgia Tech MIT/Woods Hole Amin Vahdat UC San Diego Milica Stojanovic Deborah Estrin **UCLA** Christophe Diot Intel John Heidemann USC/ISI S. Keshav Waterloo (organizer) Supratik Bhattacharyya Sprint/ATL Robert Durst MITRE James Sterbenz Univ. Massachusetts

Deadlines

Submission deadline: April 6, 2005 Accept deadline: May 10, 2005 Camera ready deadline: June 1, 2005